To receive news by email, sign up for the mailing list:


 Home is where I want to be
Home is where I want to be
2010 - Here Lies Love PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 15 March 2013 15:21

"Here Lies Love" is a double-disc song cycle--improbably poignant, decidedly surreal, surprisingly thought provoking--about the rise and fall of the Philippines' notorious Imelda Marcos. It was conceived by David Byrne; composed by Byrne and DJ/recording artist Fatboy Slim, AKA Norman Cook; and performed by a dream cast drawn from the worlds of indie rock, alt country, R&B and pop. Byrne's taste in collaborators is as imaginative as it is impeccable, including Cyndi Lauper (who recounts, to lighthearted disco beats, Imelda's courtship with Ferdinand Marcos), Steve Earle (as the power-hungry Ferdinand), Dap-Kings vocalist Sharon Jones (recalling Imelda's introduction into New York society) and Natalie Merchant (as spurned Imelda confidante Estrella, anticipating the onset of martial law). Along with vocal turns from such stars as Tori Amos and the B-52's Kate Pierson, Byrne works with rising indie rockers St. Vincent and My Brightest Diamond; New York chanteuses Nellie McKay and Martha Wainwright; and dance-music divas Roisin Murphy and Santigold. Byrne himself appears as the voice of imperialistic America on "American Troglodyte".


Many of the lyrics are constructed from actual Imelda quotes, including the project's title, the words that Imelda, now returned to the Philippines from US-assisted exile in Hawaii, would like to have inscribed on her gravestone. David Byrne generously annotates each song in the CD booklet and illustrates the story with archival photos. In a detailed preface, he reveals what drew him to this subject and the bumpy route he took to launch the project and, ultimately, record this CD.

"Here Lies Love" is available as both a regular double CD and a Deluxe Edition with booklet and bonus DVD with six exclusive music videos.




  • Here Lies Love (Florence Welch)
  • Every Drop of Rain (Candie Payne & St. Vincent)
  • You'll be Taken Care of (Tori Amos)
  • The Rose of Tacloban (Martha Wainwright)
  • How are You? (Nellie McKay)
  • A Perfect Hand (Steve Earle)
  • Eleven Days (Cyndi Lauper)
  • When she Passed by (Allison Moorer)
  • Walk Like a Woman (Charmaine Clamor)
  • Don't you Agree? (Roisin Murphy)
  • Pretty Face (Camille)
  • Ladies in Blue (Theresa Andersson)


  • Dancing Together (Sharon Jones)
  • Men Will do Anything (Alice Russell)
  • The Whole Man (Kate Pearson)
  • Never so Big (Santigold)
  • American Troglodyte
  • Solano Avenue (Nicole Atkins)
  • Order 1081 (Natalie Merchant)
  • Seven Years (Shara Worden)
  • Why Don't you Love me? (Tori Amos & Cyndi Lauper)

DVD: (only in Deluxe Edition):

  • Eleven Days (Cyndi Lauper)
  • When She Passed by (Allison Moorer)
  • Don't you Agree? (Roisin Murphy)
  • Dancing Together (Sharon Jones)
  • Please Don't (Santigold)
  • Order 1081 (Natalie Merchant)

Find us on Facebook button

Follow us on Twitter

Where is it?

Amazon Associates