To receive news by email, sign up for the mailing list:


 Home is where I want to be
Home is where I want to be
New David Byrne album 'American Utopia' PDF E-mail
Saturday, 20 January 2018 11:16

David Byrne American UtopiaDavid Byrne's new album 'American Utopia' is out on March 9 on Todo Mundo/Nonesuch records. The album features ten brand new songs and will be released on CD and limited edition vinyl.

Pre-order 'American Utopia' vinyl (USA) 
Pre-order 'American Utopia' cd (USA)

Pre-order 'American Utopia' vinyl (UK)
Pre-order 'American Utopia' cd (UK)

1. I Dance Like This
2. Gasoline and Dirty Sheets
3. Every Day is a Miracle
4. Dog's Mind
5. This is That
6. It's not Dark up Here
7. Bullet
8. Doing the Right Thing
9. Everybody's Coming to my House
10. Here

Tina Weymouth writes a letter to her younger self PDF E-mail
Tuesday, 31 January 2017 04:00

Tina Weymouth reflects on Jackie Kennedy, ancient Hawaiian wisdom, and raising sons worthy of great women in a letter to her younger self for i-D magazine:

New 'unofficial' Talking Heads live albums PDF E-mail
Monday, 22 June 2015 09:49

Talking Heads Transmission ImpossibleNew live cd's and vinyl records containing FM broadcasts of Talking Heads shows have been announced in the UK. Released by obscure labels, these albums contain complete live shows form the early days of Talking Heads. Most of these recordings have been available on-line for many years and circulated among tape traders in the early days of the internet. These albums are not authorized by the band, but seem semi-legal as they were originally legal broadcasted in the U.S.

None of these live albums come even close to the official albums 'Stop Making Sense' or 'The Name of This Band is Talking Heads', and are therefore only interesting for completists. Note that many of these releases contain the same shows).

- 3CD Boxet 'Transmission Impossible' (Park West, Chicago 1978 + Boarding House, San Francsicso 1978 + Berklee Performing Arts Centre, Boston 1979)
- CD 'Saratoga Psycho' (Saratoga Springs, 1983)
- CD 'Boarding House' (Boarding House, San Francisco 1978)
- CD 'New Feeling' (Park West, Chicago, 1978)
- CD 'Psycho Killer... Live' (Boarding House, San Fransisco 1978)
- CD 'Boston Tea Party' (Berklee Performing Arts Centre, Boston 1979)
- CD 'Performance' (Berklee Performaing Arts Centre, Boston 1979)
- LP 'Fm Live 1978' (Park West, Chicago, 1978)
- 2LP 'Stop Making Sense Tour 1983' (USA, 1983)
- LP 'Chicago 1978' (Park West, Chicago, 1978)

Honorary RISD degrees for Chris Frantz, Tina Weymouth and Jerry Harrison PDF E-mail
Sunday, 31 May 2015 16:09

Chris Frantz (RISD '74 Painting), Tina Weymouth (RISD '74 Painting) and Jerry Harrison accepted the 2015 Alumni Award for Artistic Achievement at Rhode Island School of Design on May 30rd. This year RISD presented five outstanding cultural leaders with honorary Doctor of Fine Arts degrees. Film maker John Waters and writer Adam Gopnik also received honorary degrees. during this years ceremony.

Chris Frantz, Tina Weymouth, Jerry Harrison at RISD 2015

David Byrne curator of Meltdown 2015 PDF E-mail
Tuesday, 12 May 2015 19:50

David Byrne curator Meltdown 2015 LondonDavid Byrne curates this years edition of the Meltdown festival to take place in London from Agust 17 - August 30 2015. Since 1993 some of the world most distinguished musicians have been the guest directors of Meltdown. From John Peel through to Massive Attack, via David Bowie, Patti Smith, Morrissey and more, Meltdown has given seminal artists the chance to pick their favourite artists to play and exhibit their work at Southbank Centre.

"This is going to be exciting! I plan to invite performers I've seen and I do get out and others I've missed or have dreamed of seeing. It's going to be a bit of fun puzzle solving I imagine seeing who's interested, who is available and what venues at Southbank Centre are appropriate. I really hope to find things that take this beyond sit-down concerts as well but of course I'm speaking way too early as I'm still working on my wish list.", Byrne said in a statement on the Meltdown website.

One of the confirmed names for the 2015 line-up of the festival is Atomic Bomb!, an all-star band celebrating the music of William Onyeabor. Onyeabor's music has been released on Luaka Bop in a beautiful boxset last year. The Atomic Bomb! band uses a different line-up of musicians for each of their rare shows, and it's likely Byrne will join the band on stage during Meltdown, like he did earlier in New York City.

Other confirmed names for Meltdown 2015 include Anna Calvi, Sunn O))), Benjamin Clementine and Young Marble Giants. More info on Meltdown and tickets on the Meltdown website.


Find us on Facebook button

Follow us on Twitter

Where is it?

Ask yourself...

Favorite hit single?

Amazon Associates